Roles

Last Updated: 17 Dec 2015

The Roles screen allows you to assign a Role to an asset and select which user or User Group is performing that Role. This screen is only available to users with administration permission.

Users and groups assigned to roles for this asset

This section allows you to view the Roles that have been assigned to the asset and assign new Roles.

5-0-0_users-and-groups-assigned-to-roles-section.png
The Users and groups assigned to roles for this asset section

The fields available in this section are as follows:

  • Current: this section lists the current Roles that have been assigned to this asset. If no Roles have been assigned, the message No roles have been assigned will appear, as shown in the figure above. When you assign a Role to the asset, it will appear in a grey box, as shown in the figure below.

    5-0-0_current-section.pngbr />The list of current roles for an asset

    To change a Role that has been assigned to the user or User Group that is performing that role, use the Roles field. To assign another user or User Group to a Role, use the Users field.
    To delete a user or User Group that has been assigned a Role, click the Clear button and click Commit. To delete a Role, click the Clear button for that Role. Any Role that is marked as Global may be performed on the asset by any user or User Group that is stored under that Role in the Asset Map. To unmark a Role as global, deselect the Global option and click Commit. For more information on global assignments, refer to the Roles chapter in the Users and Permissions manual.
  • Add New: this section allows you to assign a new Role to the asset. To add a new Role, select the Role in the Select a role field. In the Select the users who will perform the role on this asset field, select either the user or User Group that will perform this role. If you select a User Group, all of the users stored under that group will be assigned this Role. You can add additional users or User Groups by clicking on the More... button.

    You can also select to globally assign the Role by ticking the Allow globally assigned users to perform this role. You can select this option without having to select a user or User Group in the field above. Once you have done that, click Commit. The new Role will appear in the Current section above.

Cascade Changes to Role Assignments?

By default, Yes, cascade role assignment changes is ticked. This means that when you assign a Role or change a Role assignment in the Users and groups assigned to roles for this asset section, it will automatically cascade the changes to all child assets for this asset. If you do not want the changes to be cascaded, deselect this option before you click Commit.

5-0-0_cascade-changes-to-roles-assignments-section.png
The Cascade Changes to Role Assignments section

Manually Cascade Changes to Role Assignments?

Manual cascade allows you to cascade any current Role settings on the asset to all of its child assets. If you have made changes to the Roles or assigned new Roles and did not cascade the changes, tick Yes, manually cascade role assignment changes and click Commit to cascade these settings. Any additional Roles set on a child asset or any Roles that conflict with the ones set on this asset will not be changed.

5-0-0_manually-cascade-changes-to-roles-assignments-section.png
The Manually Cascade Changes to Role Assignments section


Previous Chapter Next Chapter

The Latest

Let Us Know What You Think

Let us know if you spot any errors or if you have any ideas on how we can improve the Matrix Community Website.

Contact Squiz for Demo

Let us show you the true power of Squiz Matrix by giving you a personalised demonstration.