Web Paths

Last Updated: 17 Dec 2015

The Web Paths screen shows the full web path of the asset. This web path is based on the URL of the Site, where it sits in the hierarchy of the Site, and the name that was entered when it was created. For example, a Standard Page called Matrix was created under the Squiz page in a Site. The Site URL is www.example.com. The web path of the Matrix page will be www.example.com/squiz/matrix. If the name of the asset has a space in it, by default this space will be replaced with a hyphen, for example, www.example.com/squiz/squiz-matrix.

Bookmarks to the headings on this page:

  1. Web Paths
  2. Remaps

The Web Paths screen also allows you to set up remaps for the asset. The remap will take the user from an old URL to the current URL of the asset. This way they will see the content of the asset instead of a page not found error.  

Web Paths

This section allows you to change the Web Path of the asset as well as view the current URL of the asset.

5-0-0_web-paths-section.png
The Web Paths section of the Web Paths screen

The fields available are as follows:

  • Paths: by default, the name that was entered when the asset was first created will appear in this field. You can add an additional path by clicking into the second box and entering the new path. For example, we can add another Path called matrix. This means that the user can view this asset in the Site by entering the URL http://www.example.com/home or http://www.example.com/matrix.

    You can change the Paths by clicking into these fields and entering the new Path for the asset. When you do this, by default a new remap will appear in the Remaps section. For example, in the figure shown above, if we change the Path home to matrix, a remap will appear in the Remaps section. This means that if the user enters the URL http://www.example.com/home they will be redirected or taken to the URL http://www.example.com/matrix.

    Tip: Squiz Matrix will automatically convert the ampersand character (&) and its HTML entity (&) to '-and-' when used within a web path.

  • Current URLs: this section lists the URLs for the asset. Multiple URLs will be listed if the Site has more than one URL or the asset has more than one Web Path.
  • Automatically add remaps?: This field allows you to stop a remap from being created when you change the path. By default this option is selected meaning that the remap will be created. To stop the remap, deselect this option before you click Commit.

Remaps

This section lists all of the current remaps for the asset. It also allows you to set up new remaps.

5-0-0_remaps-section.png
The Remaps section of the Web Paths screen

To set up a remap enter the old URL into the Old URL field and select which URL to map to from the list provided in the New URL field. For example, we can enter an Old URL of http://www.example.com/home and select http://www.example.com/matrix from the New URL field, as shown in the figure above. This means that if the user enters the URL http://www.example.com/home they will be taken to the URL http://www.example.com/matrix.

You can give the remap an expiry time by entering the number of days into the Expires field. When a remap expires it will be deleted and the user will have to use the correct URL. When a remap has been set up for the asset it will be listed in the Remaps field.

The Never Delete options allows you to manually specify the Never Delete setting of the newly created remap. This effectively overrides the default system Never Delete setting, as configured on the Remap Manager. If this option is enabled, the remap entry will be unable to be deleted until the Never Delete option is disabled for the remap on the Remap Manager. By default, this field will be set to the default Never Delete setting for the system, as configured on the Remap Manager.

5-0-0_never-delete-field.png
The Never Delete field

To delete a remap, click on the Delete box for the remap and click Commit. The availability of this option determined by whether or not the remap is marked as Never Delete. If the remap is marked as Never Delete, it will not be able to deleted, as shown in the figure to the right. This setting must first be disabled on the Remap Manager before the remap can be deleted.

For more information, refer to the Remap Manager chapter in the System Management Manual.


Previous Chapter Next Chapter

Let Us Know What You Think

Let us know if you spot any errors or if you have any ideas on how we can improve the Matrix Community Website.

Contact Squiz for Demo

Let us show you the true power of Squiz Matrix by giving you a personalised demonstration.