Last Updated: 11 Nov 2019
The Trash asset stores all of the assets that have been trashed from the system and is located at the top of the Asset Map. For more information on how to trash an asset, refer to the Trashing an Asset chapter in this manual.
The Trash is similar to the trash functionality found in many operating systems. Items placed in the Trash are not deleted immediately but remain in the system until the Trash is purged. Alternatively, if you want to restore an asset, simply move the asset out of the Trash into a new location.
Viewing Assets in the Trash
To view the assets that are in the Trash, expand the Trash asset in the Asset Map.
Purging the Trash
To purge the Trash, right click on the Trash asset and select Purge Trash; the Purge Trash screen will appear.
You can purge a certain section of the Trash or all assets in the Trash. Please note that once the assets have been purged they are permanently deleted and cannot be retrieved.
The Link Age field allows you to specify the assets to be permanently deleted in the Trash based on whether or not they are older than a specified time period. This link age value can set in minutes, hours, days, weeks, months or years.
It is important to purge the Trash regularly. A build-up of assets in the Trash can cause the system to slow down and when you eventually purge the Trash, it will take much longer.
Only System Administrator users are able to purge the Trash on a system.
Purging a Section of the Trash
To purge the Trash for a certain section, select the parent asset in the Purge Root Node field. For example, if you have deleted a Site, you can choose to only purge a section of that site (an Asset Listing, for example) by selecting it in the Purge Root Node field. The selected asset and all its children will be purged.
If you select an asset that is located outside of the Trash, it will not get purged.
Once you have selected an asset, select Yes in the Purge Trash? field - a confirmation pop-up will appear.
Click OK and on the Purge Trash screen, click Save. A HIPO Job will appear and the Trash will be purged for that section.
Purging All Assets in the Trash
To permanently delete all assets in the Trash, select Yes in the Purge Trash field - a confirmation pop-up will appear.
Click OK and on the Purge Trash screen, click Commit. A HIPO Job will appear and all assets in the Trash will be purged.
Scheduling a Trash Purge
This section allows you to enable Scheduled Trash Purging, specifying a future date and time when the specified assets in the Trash will be permanently deleted.
The Schedule Trash Purge field allows you to configure the settings of the Purge Trash job. Once you have done this, click Commit to schedule the job. The following options are available:
- Scheduled Trash Purging: enable this field to set job scheduling for Trash purging on your system. This means that you can schedule the Trash to be purged at a future date. By default, this field is disabled.
- Purge Root Node: specify a root node to only purge the selected asset and its children. If no root node is selected in this field, all assets in the Trash will be purged.
- Link Age: specify a link age value, to only purge assets that are older the specified time period. This value can set in minutes, hours, days, weeks, months or years. So, for example, you could set this field to only purge links older than 3 months.
- Schedule: specify the date and time to schedule the Trash to be purged or click on the Next Run button to set the date and time to the next run of the Scheduled Jobs Manager. Alternatively, you can set the scheduled job to take place in a certain number of minutes, hours, days, weeks, months or years.
Restoring an Asset from Trash
Once an asset has been moved to the Trash, you can restore it by moving it back into the correct location within the system. For example, if you have accidentally deleted the Contact Us page from under your Site, you can move it back to the correct location. For more information on how to move an asset, refer to the Trashing an Asset chapter in this manual.
- Squiz Matrix Concepts
- Admin Mode
- Simple Edit Interface
- Performance Mode
- Using the Asset Map
- My Account
- Adding an Asset
- Moving an Asset
- Cloning an Asset
- Linking an Asset
- Trashing an Asset
- Renaming an Asset
- Hiding an Asset from the Site Navigation Menu
- Page Contents and Containers
- HIPO Herder
- Safe Trash
- Maintenance Mode
- Ace Code Editor
- URL Suffixes & Query Strings
- Matrix Packages
Noticed an error?
Want to suggest an improvement?