Last Updated: 29 Jan 2021
The Schemas screen allows you to apply Metadata Schemas and Workflow Schemas to an asset and is only available to users with admin permission.
This screen shows the current Metadata Schemas and Workflow Schemas that have been applied to the asset.
Tick the Cascade option for a schema if you want it to be applied to any new assets created as a child of this asset.
To remove a schema, select the Delete option for the schema you want to be removed and save the screen.
To apply a new schema to an asset, select Apply in the list provided under the New field and select the Asset Map schema in the second field. Once you have done this, save the screen. Alternatively, you can choose to Deny a schema, meaning that it will never be applied to this asset.
By default, Cascade this new schema to newly-created children is selected. This means that when an asset is created as a child of this asset, it will automatically be assigned the new schema you apply to the asset. If you do not want this schema to be applied to the child assets, un-select this option.
Multiple Metadata Schemas
You can apply more than one Metadata Schemas to an asset, but if two or more schemas have the same field name, a warning message will appear. For example, if you apply two Metadata Schemas to an asset and both schemas have the field Description, a warning will appear. This situation is not recommended.
Multiple Workflow Schemas
You can apply more than one Workflow Schema to an asset. If you do this, when a user applies for approval, all approval processes will commence. If a user within one of the approval processes rejects the changes at any stage, all approval processes applied to the asset will be rejected.
By default, Cascade schema changes is ticked. This means that it will automatically cascade the changes to all child assets when you apply or delete a schema. If you do not want the changes to be cascaded, deselect this option before you save the screen.
Manual cascade allows you to cascade any current schemas applied to an asset to all of its child assets if the Cascade option is selected. If you have made changes to any of the schema settings and did not cascade the changes, tick Manually cascade schemas and save the screen to cascade these settings. Any additional schemas set on a child asset or any schemas that conflict with the ones set on this asset will not be changed.